1 March 2019: The Minamata Convention on Mercury has reached 105 ratifications. The Marshall Islands, Saint Lucia, Saudi Arabia and Uganda have deposited their instruments of ratification or accession between January and March 2019.

Saint Lucia joined the treaty on 23 January 2019, the Marshall Islands on 29 January 2019, Saudi Arabia on 27 February 2019 and Uganda on 1 March 2019.

The Minamata Convention on Mercury is a global treaty to protect human health and the environment from the adverse effects of mercury. It was agreed at the fifth session of the Intergovernmental Negotiating Committee on mercury in Geneva on 19 January 2013, and adopted on 10 October 2013 at a Diplomatic Conference (Conference of Plenipotentiaries), held in Kumamoto, Japan.

The Minamata Convention entered into force on 16 August 2017. To date, the Convention has 128 signatories and 105 Parties. [List of Parties to Minamata Convention] [Minamata Convention Website] [SDG Knowledge Hub Story on Minamata Convention’s Entry into Force] [SDG Knowledge Hub Story on Establishment of Secretariat and Approval of MoU with GEF] [SDG Knowledge Hub Story on Minamata COP1 Decision on Compliance Committee]